George H.V. Cecil Scholarship

Students and Communities supporting each other

Established in 2002 as the Journey Scholarship, the program was renamed for George H.V. Cecil in 2020. A native of Western North Carolina and the founder and Scholarship Committee Chair, George Cecil believed in the power of education to transform lives and communities. This endowed scholarship honors his legacy by furthering educational opportunities, encouraging community service, and fostering leadership skills.

This is a four-year renewable scholarship offered to high school seniors from participating WNC Honors communities with priority given to those who have actively volunteered with their community centers. Scholarship candidates are expected to demonstrate good character, strong academic potential, dedication to community service, and leadership.

George H.V. CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCeJourney Scholarship Logo

2024 General Info

Applications are open as of January 2024 and are available from high school guidance counselors and through any participating WNC Honors community club. We are excited to be in the second year of offering this as a renewable scholarship! All recipients this year will be able to renew their initial award for up to four years. 

Applications are due Monday, March 18th by 11:59 PM

Recipients will be notified in early May


Minimum GPA of 3.0

Applicants must be verified by an officer from a WNC Honors community center or club listed on page 2 of the application. If applicants are not certain who their community center is, please reach out to our scholarship coordinator at Please keep in mind that it may take several days to connect with an officer, so be sure to plan ahead.

If submitting an online application is a difficulty for any reason, please contact your guidance counselor, community officer, or the scholarship coordinator for a pdf/word doc version that can be submitted either by email or by hardcopy mail. *

Active WNC Honors Communities 2024

Ashe County: Peak Creek, Todd Ruritan

Buncombe County: Avery’s Creek, Beaverdam (Candler), Big Ivy, Cane Creek, Fairview, Ox Creek, Rosscraggon Wood, Sandy Mush, Shiloh, Spring Mountain

Cherokee County: Bellview, Cherokee County Indian Community Club, Grape Creek, Martins Creek, Peachtree, Texana, Unaka

Graham County: Snowbird

Haywood County: Beaverdam (Canton), Bethel, Fines Creek, North Hominy, Saunook

Henderson County: Crab Creek, Edneyville, Mills River, Upper Hickory Nut Gorge, Upward

Jackson County: Big Y, Caney Fork, Painttown, Pumpkintown, Wolftown

Macon County: Carson, Holly Springs, Nantahala, Otto

Madison County: Center, Greater Ivy, Laurel, Revere Rice Cove, Spring Creek, Walnut Creek, Walnut, Upper Laurel

Mitchell County: Tipton Hill

Rutherford County: Bills Creek, Ellenboro Woman’s Club, Gilkey School, Golden Valley, Union Mills

Swain County: Big Cove, Towstring, Yellowhill

Transylvania County: Balsam Grove, Cathey's Creek, Cedar Mountain, Dunn’s Rock, Estatoe, Little River, Quebec, Williamson Creek

Watauga County: Deep Gap, Foscoe, and Mountaineer Ruritan Clubs

Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians: Big Cove, Big Y, Cherokee County Indian Community Club, Painttown, Snowbird, Towstring, Yellowhill, Wolftown

*If mailing a hardcopy application, please notify the scholarship coordinator ahead of time and make sure it is in the mail well before the deadline. Mailed applications must be received by March 18th to be considered. Note that U.S. mail is currently experiencing slower processing times, so plan accordingly.