wnc honors awards


Read about the 2023 Awardees here.

Special Awards and Recognitions

Impact Award: This new award is given to a community who has led a new initiative which has had a significant, measurable impact on the well-being of their area.

Youth Leadership Award: This award is given to a young person whose leadership and initiative is highlighted in the community’s Honors application. The recipient of this award is also offered a program scholarship form the North Carolina Outward Bound School to make their programming more accessible to local students.

Calico Cats: A longstanding tradition of the WNC Honors Awards, the Calico Cat Sr. and Jr. awards are given to communities who have made significant physical improvements to their community center facilities.

President’s Awards: President's awards are given to community centers who have reached a 25, 50, or 75 year mark in their history.