WNC Communities Leadership

BOARD OF DIRECTORS: Fiscal Year End 6.30.2020

Chair:  Randy Rogers, Haywood County

Immediate Past Chair:  Roger Wiggins, Fiscal Officer of Southwestern Commission

First Vice Chair:  Dean Kanipe, McDowell County

Second Vice Chair:  Jimmy Cowan, District Field Representative of NC Farm Bureau Federation

Treasurer:  Karen Hammett, Haywood County

Secretary:  Jeffery Owen, Buncombe County

President:  K. Ray Bailey, Buncombe County

Vice President:  L.T. Ward, Buncombe County

  • Chivous Bradley, Rutherford County
  • Craig DeBrew, Henderson County
  • Lumpy Lambert, GM of Operations for Harrah’s River Valley
  •         Bruce Peterson, Buncombe County
  • Harris Prevost, Vice President of Grandfather Mountain
  • Jerry Sutton, Macon County
  • Bill Yarborough, Regional Agronomist & Special Assistant to NC Commissioner of Agriculture
  •        Ross Young, Madison County


  • W. Louis Bissette Jr., McGuire, Wood & Bissette
  • F. Ed Broadwell, Buncombe County
  • George H. V. Cecil, Chairman of Biltmore Farms Inc.
  • E. Charles Dyson, Bladen County
  • Linda B. Ford, Buncombe County
  • Jacob F. Grigg, Madison County
  • Sam H. McGuirt Jr., Henderson County
  • Albert Plemmons, Transylvania County
  • Richard B. Wynne, Henderson County


Executive Director and WNC AgOptions Coordinator:  Jennifer Ferre

Director of Community and Agricultural Programs:  Terri Wells

Director of Hemlock Restoration Initiative: Margot Wallston

Accounting:  Amy Tipps

Ag Specialist:  Mike Ford



In Memory…

WNC Communities has been fortunate to have great leadership through the years in two of our region’s finest, Morris L. “Mac” McGough and Patricia Brinkley Shulimson.  Please see their dedication pages to learn how we continue to honor their lives and contributions to our mountain home.