WNC Agricultural Hall of Fame Members

The Western North Carolina Agricultural Hall of Fame was established in 1991 by the Board of Directors of the Western North Carolina Community Development Association, currently known as WNC Communities.

The Western North Carolina Agricultural Hall of Fame was established to:

  • honor significant contributions to agriculture
  • recognize individuals who have been responsible for agricultural advancement
  • encourage, improve, and promote agriculture in Western North Carolina

Selection of members for the Western North Carolina Agricultural Hall of Fame is conducted annually and the general public is invited to submit nominations for this honor. The nomination form is available in January. Contact our office by calling (828) 252-4783 to receive a hard copy in the mail, an electronic copy via email or download the current form here.

Plaques honoring the inductees are in the process of being relocated to the WNC Agricultural Center – Davis Event Center in Fletcher, North Carolina. The induction ceremony will be held at that location in spring 2022.

WNC Agricultural Hall of Fame Members

2020 – Terry Rogers, Steve Troxler

2019 – Theron Larnce Maybin Sr., L.T. Ward

2018 – Michael R. Corn, William A. “Bill” Holbrook

2017 – William Waightstill Avery, Charlie Jackson

2016 –  John M. Queen III, Don R. Smart

2015 – William “bill” C. Parton, Dr. Walter A. Skroch

2014 – Kenneth Reeves, C.R. “Dick” Unrath

2013 – Roger Hyatt, David Lee

2012 – D. Layten Davis, Gwyn Brantley Price

2011 – William H. “Bill” Teague, Bill Yarborough

2010 – Ronald Ray Lamb, Charles Ziegler

2009 – Linda Ford, Thomas Thrash

2008 – Neal Stamey, Jerry Sutton

2007 – John Dale “JD” Brooks, Albert Plemmons

2006 – Robert Shipley, Paul Shoemaker

2005 – Bill Edmondson, Bud Sales

2004 – Albert Clark, Wilburn Collins

2003 – William Aldridge, Patricia Brinkley

2002 – Sam Cartner, James Edwards

2001 – Richard Jennings, Ernst Laursen

2000 – William Enloe, Robert Lyday

1999 – David Burnette, Randy Gardner

1998 – Jacob Grigg, Evelyn Hill

1997 – George Cecil, Kenneth Perry, Liston Ramsey

1996 – B.F. Nesbitt, James Shelton

1995 – J.D. Cooley, Charles Francis

1994 – Dwight Bennett, Harley Blackwell, James Graham

1993 – S.E. Johnston, Charles Messer, Reeves Noland, Harry Silver, John Veach

1992 – Theodore Bullington, Robert Phillips, Dr. Carl A. Schenck

1991 – Richard Barber, Clayton Davis, Thomas Konsler, Morris “Mac” McGough, Clyde Osborne, Denver Robinson, George Vanderbilt, E.J. Whitmire