2022 George H.V. Cecil Journey Scholarship Recipients

Originally published June 27, 2022

We are pleased to announce the 2022 recipients of the George H.V. Cecil Journey Scholarship. This year, $13,000 in scholarships was awarded to eleven outstanding high school seniors in Western North Carolina. Each person was awarded between $500 – $1,500 to assist with their post-secondary education. The recipients are: 

Jada Pennington – Peak Creek, in Ashe County

Anna Laws – Cane Creek, in Buncombe County

Grace Laws – Cane Creek, in Buncombe County

Alyssa Phillips – Martin’s Creek, in Cherokee County

Tucker Smith – Bethel, in Haywood County

Cali Douthit – Nantahala, in Macon County

Peighton Robison – Tipton Hill, in Mitchell County

Alex McKinney – the Ellenboro Women’s Club, in Rutherford County

Augustus Owen- Balsam Grove, in Transylvania County

Erin Huter – Cedar Mountain, in Transylvania County

Leana Kitchen – Balsam Grove, in Transylvania County

WNC Communities is honored to also offer the Pat Brinkley Shulimson Memorial Scholarship, which awards one student an additional $500 for demonstrating exceptional leadership. This year’s winner was Alex McKinney from the Ellenboro Women’s Club in Rutherford County. The selection of this scholarship is based on letters of recommendation from teachers detailing the student’s specific accomplishments.

We congratulate these youth for their accomplishments, and look forward to helping them on the next step in their journeys.