Journey Scholars for 2017


WNC Communities is proud to announce the Journey Scholars for 2017.  Eight scholarships totaling $11,000 were awarded to deserving high school seniors preparing to attend college.  The following recipients were supported by rural community development centers/clubs active with the WNC Honors program.

Rhiannon Faith Goodwin from Bethel in Haywood County
$1,000 to NC State University

Samuel Eric Henson from Peak Creek in Ashe County
$1,500 to NC State University

Haley Nicole Johnson from Fairview in Buncombe County
$1,500 to NC State University

Allison Nicole Merrell from North Hominy in Haywood County
$1,000 to Montreat College

Gavin Drey Owen from Lake Toxaway in Transylvania County
$1,500 to TriCounty Technical College

Ressie Mae Owen from Balsam Grove in Transylvania County
$1,000 to Gardner Webb University

Lilah Mary Rossell from Ox Creek in Buncombe County
$1,500 to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Ty Rickey Reeves from Leicester in Buncombe County
$1,500 to AB Technical College

Pat Brinkley Shulimson Scholar: This scholarship is given to a Journey Scholarship recipient with outstanding leadership abilities. We are pleased to announce that Ty Reeves from the Leicester Community was chosen to receive the Pat Brinkley Shulimson Memorial Scholarship of $500 for 2017.

Journey Scholars pictured left to right: Haley Johnson, Ressie Owen, Allison Merrell, George H. V. Cecil with the Scholarship Committee, and Ty Reeves.



You may also like...