Journey Scholarship Recipients 2015

This year 9 scholarships totaling $11,500 have been awarded to deserving high school seniors preparing to attend college. We are honored to announce the following Journey Scholarship recipients:


Haley Brown from Leicester
$500 to AB Technical College

Ellie Caldwell from Edneyville
$1,500 to Wake Forest University

Abby Nelson from Edneyville
$1,500 to Lenoir-Rhyne University

Lilly Smith from Ox Creek
$1,000 to Covenant College

Joshua Starnes from Grape Creek
$1,500 to UNC-Chapel Hill

Nick Stevens from Tipton Hill
$1,500 to UNC-Asheville

Ty Tipton from Greater Ivy
$1,000 to UNC-Asheville

Alec Wallenius-Caldwell from Ox Creek
$1,000 to UNC-Chapel Hill

Cayla Wood from Cane Creek
$1,500 to Converse College

Pat Brinkley Shulimson Scholar

In addition, we are pleased to announce that Ellie Caldwell from Edneyville in Henderson County was chosen to receive the Pat Brinkley Shulimson Memorial Scholarship of $500 to Wake Forest University. Ellie is being awarded this scholarship for her outstanding leadership abilities.