WNC Communities Leadership

BOARD OF DIRECTORS: Fiscal Year End 6.30.2018

Chair:  Roger Wiggins, Fiscal Officer of Southwestern Commission

Immediate Past Chair:  Jeffrey Owen, Attorney of McGuire, Wood & Bissette

First Vice Chair:  Randy Rogers, Western District Senior VP of Carolina Farm Credit

Second Vice Chair:  Dean Kanipe, McDowell County

Treasurer:  Jimmy Cowan, District Field Representative of NC Farm Bureau Federation

Secretary:  Jerry Plemmons, Madison County

President:  K. Ray Bailey, Buncombe County

Vice President:  L.T. Ward, Buncombe County

  • Chivous Bradley, Rutherford County
  • Ed Frizzell, Transylvania County
  • Karen Hammett, Haywood County
  • Lumpy Lambert, GM of Operations for Harrah’s River Valley
  • Bruce Peterson, Buncombe County
  • Harris Prevost, Vice President of Grandfather Mountain
  • Jerry Sutton, Macon County
  • Bill Yarborough, Regional Agronomist & Special Assistant to NC Commissioner of Agriculture


  • W. Louis Bissette Jr., McGuire, Wood & Bissette
  • F. Ed Broadwell, Buncombe County
  • George H. V. Cecil, Chairman of Biltmore Farms Inc.
  • E. Charles Dyson, Bladen County
  • Linda B. Ford, Buncombe County
  • Jacob F. Grigg, Madison County
  • Sam H. McGuirt Jr., Henderson County
  • William C. Parton, Burke County
  • Albert Plemmons, Transylvania County
  • Richard B. Wynne, Henderson County


Executive Director:  Linda Lamp

Accounting:  Becky Hagan

WNC AgOptions Coordinator:  Jennifer Ferre

Ag Specialist:  Mike Ford

Hemlock Restoration Initiative: Margot Wallston


In Memory…

WNC Communities has been fortunate to have great leadership through the years in two of our region’s finest, Morris L. “Mac” McGough and Patricia Brinkley Shulimson.  Please see their dedication pages to learn how we continue to honor their lives and contributions to our mountain home.