Contact Us

WNC Communities 594 Brevard Road Asheville, NC 28806 Office: 828-252-4783 Email:   You may also complete this form and send it to us.

Our Purpose

WNC Communities is dedicated to providing a unique forum for leaders in the mountain region of Western North Carolina to convene, collaborate and carry out innovative programs to improve the quality of life for rural communities and to enhance the economy of the agriculture sector.

WNC Communities Leadership

BOARD OF DIRECTORS: Fiscal Year End 6.30.2020 Chair:  Randy Rogers, Haywood County Immediate Past Chair:  Roger Wiggins, Fiscal Officer of Southwestern Commission First Vice Chair:  Dean Kanipe, McDowell County Second Vice Chair:  Jimmy Cowan, District Field Representative of NC Farm Bureau Federation Treasurer:  Karen Hammett, Haywood County Secretary:  Jeffery Owen, Buncombe County President:  K. Ray Bailey, Buncombe County Vice President:  L.T. Ward, Buncombe County Chivous Bradley, Rutherford County Craig DeBrew,  Read More »

History of WNC Communities

In the years following World War II the leaders of Western North Carolina faced an enormous challenge: how to bring a region the size of New Jersey together to address the future in a spirit of cooperation? Historically, this had not been the “mountain approach.” The lack of adequate highway systems isolated one community from another. County boundaries became a source of pride and prejudice.  Read More »

Our Focus

WNC Communities has three primary focuses: Agriculture & Sustainable Economic Development WNC Communities supports economic development by continuing a tradition of collaborating with a wide variety of organizations and agencies including the leaders of the agriculture community, to bring regional and state strategies to the community level. WNC Communities works with a wide variety of regional partners to design and implement community-based strategies around sustainable  Read More »